Spring seed planting

I know I’m about a million (okay 2) trip reports behind but I decided to take some free time today to plant seeds.  Having a house and backyard space is a relatively new thing so last year I got around to buying some tomato and herb plants and growing them in pots on my deck.  It wasn’t that hard but it was really expensive.  Anything that’s potted and of a reasonable size is not cheap.  The bigger tomato plants are the priciest.  So this spring I decided to start my own seedlings.  I have a big window that gets a lot of sunlight and was feeling thrifty so I went to pick up some seeds this morning.

After reading Eliz’s post on her home-made setup, I realized I didn’t have enough toilet paper rolls but did have 2 egg cartons.  I didn’t think to take pictures as I setup my trays but it’s fairly easy to do.

  1. Cut the tops from the bottom of the egg carton.
  2. Take two long pieces of plastic wrap and overlap them so you have a wider piece of the same length.
  3. Fill the egg compartments with soil and plant your seeds!
  4. Water generously.
  5. The idea with the plastic wrap is that you put one end of it under the egg carton bottom before you nestle it into the top.  This keeps all the water from leaking onto the top and also leaves a nice long flap that can be pulled over to cover the garden or lifted for watering.  I kept the ends open to allow for airflow.

Plastic wrap ready to be folded over the seedlings. Underneath the plastic wrap is the top of the egg carton.

I don’t have the patience to read up on how to start seeds so I’m hoping that my setup will provide a greenhouse effect and airflow while not allowing water to leak onto my windowsill.  I did put aluminum foil and tea clothes under each carton just in case!  I’m also not sure about how they’ll do on the windowsill.  It gets *a lot* of light (and within 10 min of me leaving them there was roasting) so I may move them to my kitchen table once they sprout to avoid cooking anything.

I planted roma & heirloom tomatoes, peas and zucchini.  I’m also going to try and plant petunias once I get my hands on a few more egg cartons.  Hopefully this works – I’ll try and update in a few weeks!

Mini-greenhouses ready to go on the windowsill

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Looks awesome, Sarah! Sounds like you have the perfect windowsill for your little plant babies. Once they sprout, you can take the plastic wrap off and they will LOVE all of that sunlight! The biggest thing, I’ve found, is moisture management in the soil. If it’s too wet it’ll mold, too dry it’s no good either. Finicky little buggers.

    After some trial and error, I’m having some luck with my seeds! Lots of happy onions, a few tomato seedlings that are growing leaves, and collard greens. Yay! It’s warm enough here to plant lettuce outside, so I’m hoping to get the garden ready and throw some lettuce, spinach, etc. out this week.

    Reply
    • Finicky indeed!! I’ve just checked to make sure I’m leaving the ends of the plastic wrap open so there’s some ventilation. I have a feeling this might be a bit of trial and error to get them to sprout and grow!

      Sounds like you’re a few steps ahead of me in the process so I’ll be checking back on your blog to see how things go. I may have to try onions now too … :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

