Managing expectations … and expecting a little adventurer!

First things first, I’m sure the title is a dead give-away but I found out a few months ago that I’m gonna have a little adventurer-in-training joining the family in January 2014!

Now that that’s out of the way … it’s been quite a while since I’ve written on my blog.  2013 has been a very different year for me so far and I’ve kept waiting for things to calm down a bit to write but seems that hasn’t happened!  In January I was really excited for the ski season to start. I had just gotten brand new skis and boots as I had outgrown my beginner pair and I was planning on making this the year I worked on my technique and parallel turns.  In February, my husband I and went for our first backcountry ski day since his ACL injury a year ago.  He had been really nervous about going into the backcountry post-injury and turns out he wasn’t the one that needed to worry.  In almost the same way he hurt himself, I had a minor fall and sprained my MCL and my ankle.  Both of us had slipped while going slowly which meant there wasn’t enough force to release the bindings.  I saw my physio the next day and he told me I was extremely lucky to not have torn anything in my knee.  I was pretty shaken up about the whole thing and how much worse it could have been.

Both my sprains were bad and it took a full 8 weeks before they healed.  In that time period I was able to do pretty much … nothing.  Seems every activity I could think of required the use of my ankle and knee.  And of course, because bad things come in threes, soon after I managed to have two gardening accidents (one involving an unfortunate run-in with a rake).

For someone who defines them self as being active, being completely sedentary was a major adjustment as I’ve (thankfully) never really injured myself before.  I knew I needed to take the time off to let my body heal but it was difficult to be ok with the decision when I felt I had so many goals and was missing out on so many days out.  Also, while my ski accident wasn’t major by any means, it has definitely remained in the back of my mind when I think about what risks I’m willing to take and how easily minor accidents can happen.

The plus side of all that is that I seem to have gotten all my bad luck out of the way for the year!  By the spring, I was mostly back to normal and had gotten in a few ski days, climbed Professor Falls and made it to Red Rocks.  I also found out I was pregnant!  Since then I’ve still been pretty active. I ran a 10k in May and am still running (though the runs are getting shorter) and I tried SUPing for the first time in the Okanagan (trendy but as fun as it’s made out to be!). I’m hoping to do a lot more hiking in the fall which is my favourite time of year to hike (larch season!) and one of my awesome friends loaned me a maternity harness so I’ll be hitting the gym in the near future.

As far as being pregnant goes, I’m starting to get excited about meeting the mountain baby.  While in Europe this summer I went climbing with Caroline George (who guides out of Chamonix).  While we had a great time getting out on a fun bolted route, the best part was hearing her enthusiasm for being a mom.  I’d venture to say that I’m probably not the only one who has thought twice about having kids because of the change in lifestyle, so it was very reassuring to hear firsthand from Caroline how the experience really can be what you want it to be and how she made it work for her.

I haven’t decided how much I’ll write about being pregnant/kids as there are many other ladies out there who do a WAY better job of giving advice than I ever could but I’m sure the topic will come up on my hopefully more frequent posts :)

Hiking in the Alps with a +1 this time!

Hiking in the Alps with a +1 this time!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Congratulations, Sarah!

    Reply
  2. Great news on expecting. Best news!

    BTW, Caroline is a great person and a solid role model: Strong and independent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

