Review: BOB Revolution SE

After buying our Chariot CX1 (see my review), I took one look at it’s size and realized that I would probably need something a bit smaller and easier to pack into my trunk for quick outings with a newborn.  Enter one of my good friends who was done with her BOB and offered to sell it to me at a great price (thanks L!).  I knew my friend put a lot of research into her decision to buy the BOB so I felt confident it was going to be a good stroller.

Chilling by the pool

Chilling by the pool on our trip to Las Vegas at 3 months old. Not old enough to use the seat, but it worked well as a portable outdoor bassinet. With supervision of course :)

What I used it for & at what stage:

  • 0-3 months (winter): occasional walks outside & walking indoors on cold days, travel
  • 3-6 months (spring): rarely used during this time as E was too small for the seat but didn’t like being in her carseat
  • 6-9 months (summer/fall): occasional walks outside, some small trips around town, travel
  • 9-12 months (fall/winter): occasional walks outside, some small trips around town, travel

Things that I loved:

  • The suspension makes for a very smooth ride and it turns easily with the front wheel unlocked
  • The quick release for the front wheel is easy to use (though I only found it necessary to do this when I had other things I needed to pack in my trunk as well)
  • The cupholder attachment is great! It holds two beverages and has a zippered compartment for keys/phone.
  • Travels well.  We’ve taken it on two trips and had no issues with parts breaking or being damaged.  And this is after the stroller was used by another family before us for everyday use & regular travel.
  • Opens and folds easily once you get the hang of it (it’s quite fun to pop open with one hand!)
  • Sunshade is very generous and will block most of the sun
  • There’s a weather-proof window you can open on top of the sunshade to check on baby
  • No need to switch wheels between jogging & strolling.  There’s a simple latch you flip to lock the front wheel.  This is great for vacations as you can bring one stroller for walking and running.
  • The seat reclines flat to let baby nap, though we didn’t use this often.
  • Pushes easily on well-packed snow or smaller amounts of fresh snow but … (see below)
Checking out Red Rocks with our sturdy travelling BOB!

Checking out Red Rocks with our sturdy travelling BOB!

Things that didn’t work for us:

  • The cargo bin at the bottom is a little small.  My diaper backpack was about all I could fit down there (~20 L bag) and I’d have to squeeze it in if it was stuffed full.
  • It takes up much less trunk space (folded) than the Chariot but it still felt bulky and heavy
  • I noticed that on several other brands of strollers, when you click the carseat in, the sunshade can be pulled down to meet the sunshade of the carseat to block the sun/wind/snow.  On the BOB, the sunshade will pull down, though not far enough to provide good coverage.  This may have to do with my carseat (Chicco) as well as the stroller, though.
  • You can only run with this stroller once the baby is old enough to use the seat (~6 months for us).
  • It’s not possible to have the seat as upright as that of the Chariot and the 5 point harness is harder to adjust than the Chariot
  • Though the wheels are larger and you can push the BOB through snow in the winter, there is a limit to how much it can handle while still giving a smooth ride and being easy to push (though you could get around this with these cool stroller skis -> Polar Stroller)

Accessories

(yup, they have to be bought separately)

  • Cupholder attachment
  • Bucket seat attachment (different for every brand of carseat)
  • Weather shield, bug net, UV shield – I never bought any of these as the Chariot has all of this integrated in it but I thought it was worth a mention that you can buy them.

Would I buy it again?

Yes and no.  Given that I knew I was buying a Chariot, a brand new BOB would have been very pricey second stroller especially when the features I’d be paying the money for are mostly covered by a Chariot.  That being said, a secondhand BOB was a great choice for us as it gave us a sturdy second stroller to take on trips that we could still get outdoors and exercise with.  If I could go back in time, I would absolutely buy our second hand BOB again.  Buying used is an excellent option if you’d like to have a sturdy second stroller but don’t want to pay full price.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great review! I’ll keep it in mind to suggest to my expectant parent and baby-toting friends!

    Reply
    • Thanks Candy! It’s a really great stroller I’d highly recommend. And so durable! Great for outdoor/traveling families :)

      Reply
  2. Strollers have come a long way since my boys were that age. Very cool.

    Reply
    • They do seem to come with all the bells and whistles now! Makes it that much easier to get out. Thanks for reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

