Apple & Papaya Quinoa Bites

Since my now 1 year old daughter started feeding herself, I’ve been on the lookout for easy snack recipes I could cook for her but that I’d also find tasty.  My preference is to have some type of protein in both of our snacks, as otherwise I don’t find they have much staying power.  Quinoa has the protein and also seems to satisfy the toddler craving for grain products (what is is with toddlers and their undying love of bread, cheese and yogurt??)

After finding a recipe for Apple Cinnamon Quinoa Bites, I decided to attempt swapping some of the ingredients out to make a healthier version that still tasted good.  I usually don’t mind some refined sugar in my snacks but I wanted to see if I could eliminate it for my daughter.

If you’re looking for a quick, tasty, healthy, protein filled snack with no refined sugar, these are great for adults and kids.  I’ve eaten several before heading to the gym!

Apple & Papaya Quinoa Bites

Adapted from And They Cooked Happily Ever After

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
    • To make this you’ll need 1/4 cup dry quinoa and 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup quick cook oats (can be substituted with 1 cup cooked quinoa)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3 tablespoons applesauce (I used my homemade applesauce with no sugar added)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (ok … it is sugar but it’s from trees so that’s better than refined? right?)
  • 1 cup chopped fruit (pick whatever you like! I chose papaya)
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Instructions

  1. Set your oven to 350F
  2. First you’ll have to cook the quinoa.  I add the quinoa and water to a pot, turn it to high, and when it’s boiling I’ll add a lid and turn it to low. It’ll take about 10-15 min to fully cook.

    As a side, it drives me nuts that most recipes call for cooked quinoa.  I always have dry quinoa on hand but rarely cooked.  I did some research, tested my findings, and found that the ratio of dry quinoa to cooked quinoa is 1:4.  Further, to cook the quinoa you need a ratio of 1:2, dry quinoa to water.
  3. I generally dislike dirtying more bowls than necessary so I added all the ingredients to a big bowl and mixed them together.
  4. Spray a mini muffin tin with cooking spray and add ~1 tablespoon of the mixture to each cup.  I found this filled all 24 cups in my muffin tin.
  5. Bake for 15-20 min.
  6. These are great warm or cold.  They also freeze well, just be sure you leave them out to defrost as microwaving till they’re hot seems to make them crumbly.

IMG_4479

 

If anyone has any other great snack recipes I’d love to hear!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

