A few favourite items

Whenever I get together with friends, it’s inevitable that someone pipes up with their discovery of a new item they just can’t live without. I’ve bought some cool things based on recommendations so I thought I’d share the last few things I’ve purchased that have made getting out/life with kids that much easier. Hopefully it’s somewhat interesting :)

Chariot Cougar 2

I wasn’t sure if we’d need a double stroller or what type I’d want so I waited until baby bear arrived to see. In the beginning it wasn’t necessary as I felt more comfortable with our BOB single stroller (review) for the toddler and baby bear in a carrier. BUT around 3 months I went out and got the double Chariot Cougar. Life changing, seriously! This is like the SUV of strollers. Yes it’s big and takes up a lot of trunk space but I can fit in two kids, a toddler bike and helmet, diaper backpack, purse, toys, snacks, drinks, an extra carrier, etc… Admittedly the toddler doesn’t like to sit in it much with a very grabby baby but it’s perfect for hauling baby, gear and coffee while little bear walks. I was debating getting the Chariot CX2 since it has a hand brake but I have yet to miss the hand brake at all (we have the CX1 <- review as well so I was used to the hand brake). Best part is the weight is quite reasonable for a double. I highly recommend this if you’re outdoorsy and want one double stroller than can do it all!

chariot

Cover Me Poncho

I was reading Michelle’s blog a while back and discovered these ponchos. I bought them but admittedly they sat around for quite a while until summer rolled around. Calgary’s hot/cold weather swings got me to try them out and I’m in love with them! They are perfect to throw on with leggings or shorts and a tank top underneath. It’s like a really stylish cardigan. And yes, they can be used as a nursing cover too though I find them a bit hard to use as such. But they look so cute that I will probably just wear them as a top long beyond nursing.

Giro Scamp Kid’s Helmet

We originally bought little bear the MEC Genio kid’s helmet but couldn’t get a proper fit with it. No matter how we adjusted it, it would slip back and expose her forehead. We headed to our local bike store and picked up a Giro kid’s helmet. Much better. This one has easy adjustments, isn’t bulky, sits perfect and little bear likes it! Best of all it wasn’t that much more expensive than her previous helmet.

helmet

 

Little Goat Carrier Cover

I won this carrier cover and quickly fell in love with it! It made spring hiking so much easier when I could keep baby bear in a sleeper and sweater and pop the carrier cover on our Boba. As the day got warmer I could stick his little legs out of the cover or take it off easily. On windy, warm days I use the windproof part. Overall I really like this and plan to get a lot of use out of it in the fall. The only thing I’d change would be to make the inner warm lining polar fleece so the whole things weights a bit less. And did I mention the cover has lined pockets for you to put your hands in??? Awesome!

Bambu Swiss Coffee Substitute

I’m a coffee addict.  I could drink coffee pretty much all day long. But at some point I start worrying about dehydration setting in so I drink something else. Enter herbal coffee substitutes. My mom brought this over to my house one day when she was trying to cut back on caffeine and I was skeptical but intrigued.  A few cups later I was sold. It’s not decaffeinated, it has zero caffeine because it’s herbal. The ingredient list is very odd and sounds like it would taste terrible.  I’ll be honest it doesn’t taste like a nice americano but it’s passable for an instant coffee which is good enough for me. I get mine from Sobeys but I’ve seen different brands in different stores. If you want to feel like you’re drinking coffee all day long minus the caffeine this is a great option!

20160426_205359

ps – I bought everything myself except the carrier cover which I won. All the links are just plain old links I put up in case you want to see what I’m talking about :)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

